Trade Deadline Recap

First, a quick note. I am sorry for my lack of posting lately but I have been working three jobs and its has been very difficult for me to find time to post. Hopefully, I can find time every day or so like I used to, if not, I am just going to have to do it while I’m at work!

My thoughts on the trades:  I honestly liked the moves the Pirates made. I know there are a lot of people out there who don’t but I have my opinion and can write about it. (Which is why I created a blog in the first place!)

Roberto Hernandez and Oliver Perez to the Mets for Xavier Nady
I live in New York and my dad, brother, and two of my best friends are Mets fans, so I have heard and seen a lot of Xavier Nady and I like him. The Pirates wanted him a couple years ago more than they wanted Jason Bay, but thankfully they "settled" for Bay. Here’s the reasons I like the trade:
1) Roberto Hernandez is 41 years old and we only had him for two more months anyways. Once his contract expired he was going to get out of Pittsburgh faster than Wally Backman got out of Arizona. He was a good reliever for the Pirates but he walked a lot of batters and with guys like Sharpless and Bayliss in the minors it was time to see what they could do.
2) Perez has lost whatever "mojo" he had. I don’t know what happened and why he could throw a strike or get anyone out anymore but his days in Pittsburgh are over. The last straw for Dave Littlefield must have been his last start at AAA. Perez went 1/3 of an inning and gave up 8 runs! Maybe the Mets can figure him out but it doesn’t look promising.

Nady will play 1b the rest of this season but should shift to RF next year. Oh, and Dear Santa, all I want for Christmas is a power hitting first basemen and a quality veteran starting pitcher. Pretty please?!!

Sean Casey to Detroit for Brian Roberts

Casey was to old, too injury prone, and lacked power to be the answer at first base for years to come. Which is the reason Littlefield dealt him. I don’t know much about this Roberts guy but looking at his numbers, he seems to be pretty good. I like the fact that he strikes out a lot of people and doesn’t walk many. Hopefully he can turn out to be a Matt Capps-like pitcher.

Craig Wilson to the Yankees for Shawn Chacon

For some reason, I actually like this trade. Chacon has shown flashes of brilliance (7-3 2.85 era for the Yanks last year) and Craig apparently didn’t fit into our plans. Chacon has struggled through injuries and a short leash with the Yankees this year but I think he can become the pitcher he was last year. Also, Wilson doesn’t have much value with the Yankees because he is behind Giambi at first, and Abreu in right. I guess they are going to platoon him with Andy Phillips. Whats worse for Craig? A platoon with Andy Phillips or Jeromy Burnitz?

Kip Wells to Texas for Jesse Chavez

I can’t believe the Pirates got a AAA reliever who throws 95 for Wells. Granted, his era is 4.43 but Wells has gone 9-23 over the past two years so just getting someone who plays baseball would have made me happy.

Time will tell if these deals were good or bad or indifferent. I am also going on the record to say Chris Duffy will return to his ’05 form starting tonight and continuing the rest of the season. The Pirates desperately need a spark-plug lead off hitter with speed and Duffy is going to be that. If not, I will buy you all a pack of baseball cards.

Leave a Reply

